Advising

Student Advising

Advising is key to a successful college experience. Advisors are available from each language program to assist students in planning their degrees.

(NOTE: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom.  Reach out to us for continued support!)

Undergraduate Students

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisers each semester: (1) an adviser in the major and (2) a general education and university requirements adviser in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA). Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an adviser in those programs as well.

For Advising in the Major

For Advising in the Minor

For General Education and University Requirements

Graduate Students

Additional Resources

List of Advisors by Language

Arabic

Coordinator: Mohammad Salama
Office: HUM 340
Phone: 338-1338
Email: mrsalama@sfsu.edu

Chinese

Coordinator: Frederik Green
Office: HUM 341
Phone: 338-3120
Email: fgreen@sfsu.edu

Flagship: Frederik Green
Office: HUM 341
Phone: 338-3120
Email: fgreen@sfsu.edu

Majors: Chris Wen-Chao Li
Office: HUM 338
Phone: 338-1034
Email: wenchao@sfsu.edu

Graduates: Chris Wen-Chao Li
Office: HUM 338
Phone: 338-1034
Email: wenchao@sfsu.edu

French

Coordinator: Blanca Misse
Office: HUM 536
Phone: 338-7449
Email: bmisse@sfsu.edu

Majors: Blanca Misse
Office: HUM 536
Phone: 338-7449
Email: bmisse@sfsu.edu

German

Coordinator: Volker Langbehn
Office: HUM 462
Phone: 338-7422
Email: langbehn@sfsu.edu

Majors A-L: Volker Langbehn
Office: HUM 462
Phone: 338-7422
Email: langbehn@sfsu.edu

Majors M-Z: Ilona Vandergriff
Office: HUM 460
Phone: 338-1106
vdgriff@sfsu.edu

Italian

Coordinator: Olivia Albiero 
Office: HUM 458
Phone: 338-7452
Email: albiero@sfsu.edu

Majors A-Z: Olivia Albiero
Office: HUM 458
Phone: 338-7452
Email: albiero@sfsu.edu

Graduates: Olivia Albiero
Office: HUM 458
Phone: 338-7452
Email: albiero@sfsu.edu

Japanese

Coordinator: Masahiko Minami
Office: HUM 339
Phone: 338-7451
Email: mminami@sfsu.edu

Minors: Midori McKeon
Office: HUM 346
Phone: 338-1346
Email: mmckeon@sfsu.edu

Majors: Makiko Asano
Office: HUM 463
Phone: 338-1131
Email: masano@sfsu.edu

Persian

Coordinator: Mitra Ara
Office: HUM 347
Phone: 338-3121
Email: mitraara@sfsu.edu

Minors: Mitra Ara
Office: HUM 347
Phone: 338-3121
Email: mitraara@sfsu.edu

Russian

Coordinator: Natalia Tkachov
Office: HUM 404
Phone: 338-3334
Email: ntkachov@sfsu.edu

Minors A-Z: Natalia Tkachov
Office: HUM 404
Phone: 338-3334
Email: ntkachov@sfsu.edu

Spanish

Coordinator: Michael Hammer
Office: HUM 554
Phone: 338-1658
Email: mhammer@sfsu.edu

Majors A-H: Gustavo Calderon
Office: HUM 441
Phone: 338-7426
Email: gusto@sfsu.edu

Majors I-Q: Michael Hammer
Office: HUM 554
Phone: 338-1658
Email: mhammer@sfsu.edu

Majors R-Z: Ana Luengo
Office: HUM 552
Phone: 338-7796
Email: aluengo@sfsu.edu

Graduates: Ana Luengo
Office: HUM 552
Phone: 338-7796
Email: aluengo@sfsu.edu